I have a poster in my classroom (yes I know I have a classroom now! Praise God!) cut out from a parachute music festival magazine that reads ‘God and music is a powerful thing’. Grammatically it may not be correct. However in the scheme of things I whole heartedly agree with the concept. But then again I am incredibly biased I am a full time music teacher.

• Yesterday I played my year 7/8s a mixture of brooke fraser, switchfoot and Dave Crowder while learning about the concept of beat they very much enjoyed switchfoot who they had never heard before – might try some more of this!
• Today I did the same with two of my other senior classes.

However by far my most exciting ‘God moment’ this week was with a class of year 2’s (6 year olds) . Again I was teaching about beat (i’m teaching the whole school about beat). Many of our children have no experience in early childhood centres and little experience of music and movement co-ordination activities, so I downloaded (oooh yes you will love this faithful readers) some Hillsong kids and we clapped to the beat, then moved in time to the beat, then walked around in time to the beat then we sat on the floor and discussed the lyrics. Funny thing is they were so absorbed in the moving they had no idea what the heck the song was about until we just listened to it (the song was Everyday) . However in the second song, I purposely sung while we moved and walked around the room (jumping/hopping, stamping/ doing various Macarena actions) and the kids joined in, in the singing without me prompting. Then we sat down and ‘dissected’ the song, writing the words we heard on the board. When I asked whether anyonone knew the words, all the hands in the room went up and one child in a small quiet voice piped up ‘ God knows my name!’ the key words to the song…. Absolutely beautiful… and indeed he does! Once we got the chorus we all sung a long then I talked about how awesome it was that God knew us all by name.

The kids eyes lit up as we discussed all the words in the songs especially about God. Some of you may argue that this is all just child’s play and not very deep. I however would say that it actually is unfathomable the depths of a child’s faith and ability to discuss their faith. We started discussing Jesus, Christmas, Easter, Church and what being a Christian was – not unlike this blog 😛

This song has been going around in my head all day and I cam home and worshipped to it, weeping on the floor for the children in my school and wider community who are forgotten for one reason or another but are not forgotten by our Almighty Father and being so thankful that he to knows my name – because sometimes I feel the same way – forgotten!

So for your enjoyment (and for the sake of those who think I am too hostile to hillsong) here are the lyrics to the song… (however I highly recommend you go listen to it on itunes it has an african feel which is why my 6 year olds loved it – but hey I’m 22 and loved it , try it it will make a change from your U2 and dave crowder)

I am not forgotten
I am not forgotten
I am not forgotten
God knows my name
He knows my name

Light over darkness
Strength over weakness
Joy over sadness
He knows my name
Father to the fatherless
Friend to the friendless
Hope for the hopeless
He knows my name

I will praise you
I will praise you
For I am fearfully and wonderfully made

