His Brilliancy and I had a most enlightening discussion last night. Of the many things we discussed one of them included nostalgia.

I think many worldviews including the Christian world view have a lot to do with nostalgia . For example take the person who has to sit in a particular place in their place of worship at church. There is nothing in the bible that says where people are to sit ( in fact I can’t even remember there being anything about seats) , it’s just a nostalgic traditional thing that they people have done forever and if they changed they would probably feel some pull to go back and sit in that same area the following week.

I think in my worldview I have a lot of room for analysing but I have very little time for nostalgia of the ‘wasn’t-it’-great- when- we- used- to-sit-around-the-campfire- and-sing- hillsong-songs-and-talk-about-the-all-blacks-winning-the-world-cup’ type.

From this discussion with His Brilliancy , I have concluded that the Christian tradition does not have a fine history of dealing with nostalgia, either swinging too far in the above light, or with the case of myself over analysing situations and not knowing how to deal with such cases of nostalgia when they strike .

This raises two points:

1) When does nostalgia turn into self absorption and into escapism of the reality?

2) If we choose to suppress nostalgic moments be they bad or good (or something in between) are we prone to suppressing what God could be teaching us in the present moment?

